General Reference Center GOLD provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books through one interface. This general interest database offers the content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Alabama State Data Center - Provides census data profiles American Community Survey (ACS) - Ongoing mandatory survey that provides an updated portrait of America every year. This replaced the census "long form" beginning in 2010. The Census Bureau will continue to use the census "short form" in the decennial census of population and housing to obtain the population count and other demographic information. Learn more American Community Survey
American FactFinder (AFF) - U.S. Census Bureau - Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community Census of Population and Housing - The Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2010 Easy Stats - Data tool to create custom tables from the Census Bureau Economic Census - 2012 U.S. Economic Census data including Industry Snapshots, Industry Statistics Portal, and Geographic Area Series OnTheMap - Online Census Bureau mapping tool to create, download, and print workforce related maps, demographic profiles, and reports QuickFacts - Census Bureau - Presents data about communities taken from the ACS and other government sources U.S. Census Bureau United States Historical Census Data Browser - Population and economy of U.S. states and counties from 1790 to 1960
NOTICE: Mobile County Commission 30-day Comment Period for the 2020/24 Consolidated Plan/ 2020 Action Plan and Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing Choice: Public Notice and Draft Plans