ONLINE DATABASES A - Z

 



Databases brought to you by Mobile Public Library, Alabama Public Library Service and the Alabama Virtual Library:

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


EbscoHost Mobile App.
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American history. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the homepage to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into an era through the Topic Centers. Read about key figures and events, examine famous speeches and other primary sources, and get context from the timelines.

Many of our research databases are provided through the Alabama Virtual Library. They can also be found on their page under "View All Resources".
Curated, discipline-focused, and primary-source collections of streaming video for learning and research. The library's subscription, Public Library Video Online: Premium, includes over 40,000 videos on a wide range of interests, ideas, and issues.

Enter Mobile Public Library and your library card number to login.
We have the the Public Library Video Online: Premium collection.
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Ancestry Library Edition has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census, more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index; Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection.

Music, Art and Voice lessons. Video lessons from Grammy Award-winning music and artistic professionals. Login using your RBdigital Gateway account (if you already have one) or “create new account” with your library card by clicking the link in the top right corner of the page.

Learn how to use ArtistWorks:


AtoZdatabases is the Premier Job Search, Reference & Mailing List Database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!

This is a FREE TRIAL and will only be available for a limited time.
Book Collection: Nonfiction contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Designed for college and university libraries, Britannica Academic includes World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, and Notable Quotations

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.


Encyclopædia Britannica App
Britannica Library includes the Complete Encyclopædia, the Student Encyclopædia and the Junior Encyclopædia. There are more than 150,000 articles, links to over 20,000 Internet sites reviewed by Britannica editors, as well as over 750 full text journals and magazines.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.


Encyclopædia Britannica App
Britannica School is an online information resource designed for grades K-12 that provides multimedia resources for lessons and lesson planning, curriculum support, student and teacher research, and homework help.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.


Encyclopædia Britannica App
Resource for retrieving, comparing, ranking, and customizing data on the world's nations. Country snapshots feature provides statistics that include maps, area, population, demographics, gross national product, and more. County comparisons offer tools for creating comparison tables and graphs using either recent or historical statistics.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically under World Data Analyst.

Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Deep research coverage with scholarly journals, business news, and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this eBook in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Career Library is an information resource for career and college research, a great resource to help people looking for jobs and for those who want to consider changing careers. Includes information on over 2,500 occupations including job profiles on up-and-coming and out-of-the-ordinary careers and information on almost 4,000 2-year and 4 year colleges and universities. Also has sections for assessing career interests and exploring information pertaining to occupations and higher education; searching web resources related to colleges/universities, careers, and curriculum; and test preparation materials.

Chilton is the world’s most comprehensive and trusted automotive repair database with easy-to-follow, step-by-step repair guidance on thousands of cars and trucks from 1940 to the present.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH APLS:
Find the Chilton Library
on the Resource & Research Links page.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Find biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and essays about their lives and work.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and use the Gale Literary Sources database.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
The Culinary Arts Collection offers a smorgasbord of information--more than five million articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content from Delmar such as About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page
and select Career Resources on the left.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. Outlines the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarizes the critical response to their work. Each entry contains personal information, a list of principal works and further readings about the author.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and use the Gale Literary Sources database.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this eBook in the Gale Virtual Reference Library under Literature.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
eBooks from The Alabama Virtual Library include ebook encyclopedia from Britannica, Gale and Oxford Reference. Includes Native Peoples of America, Discover America, Illustrated Science Encyclopedia, the Discovery Library (for younger readers), Inside Sports, and more!
Click on the E-Books link at the top of the page.

Search of full text databases provided by EBSCO. Databases can be searched individually or can be searched simultaneously in related groups by clicking Choose Databases and selecting or deselecting databases.


EbscoHost Mobile App
The Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Designed to provide the other side of the story and additional viewpoints from those out of the mainstream press. Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Engaging interface for schools and public libraries. Provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Engaging interface for schools and public libraries. Provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Engaging interface for schools and public libraries. Provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Engaging interface for schools and public libraries. Provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.


EbscoHost Mobile App
10.4 million articles for serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page
and select Career Resources on the left.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Searches libraries all over the world for books, articles, papers, Government Publications, etc.   (Staff login here.)

The Funding Information Network provides free public access to Foundation Center databases, directories, fundraising and philanthropy publications, and training resources.
  • Foundation Center Online - a research tool to help nonprofits find the grantmakers most likely to fund their projects


  • Foundation Grants to Individuals Online - an online database of nearly 10,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers


  • Foundation Maps Professional - a data visualization tool and way to see who is funding what and where around the world
ALL ONLY AVAILABLE AT THE WEST REGIONAL BRANCH
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Users will be able to cross-search Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism, Twayne’s Authors, and Scribner Writers.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Allows a user to search Gale's General OneFile, Student Edition, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection serves horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles from Delmar, including Handbook of Flowers; Foliage and Creative Design; Computer Graphics for Landscape Architects; and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page
and select Career Resources on the left.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Includes some 3,000 full-text periodicals covering a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
General Reference Center GOLD provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books through one interface. This general interest database offers the content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Helps researchers remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page
and select Career Resources on the left.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
GreenFILE offers information covering aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Health At Salem Press: covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, anatomy, biology, mental health and issues in an A-Z format.

This database is a collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.


EbscoHost Mobile App
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Includes Milestone Documents, The Decades, Great Lives from History and Great Events from History.

A comprehensive full text history reference database. Features more than 640,000 full-text records from peer-reviewed journals, reference books, periodicals and more. Includes more than 74,000 primary source documents, more than 81,000 biographies of historical figures, and nearly 2,000 full-text reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. Plus, full text and selective content from more than 150 leading history periodicals and multimedia content including more than 43,000 images and 80+ hours of video.


EbscoHost Mobile App
For hobbyists and professionals with more than 4.5 million articles from more than 200 home improvement-focused titles, covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page
and select Career Resources on the left.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Going back to school? Preparing for your GED? Taking the Citizenship Test? Get the help you need, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by connecting with a professional, online tutor. Tutor.com offers one-to-one, real-time tutoring in math, science, English, social writing, GED preparation and citizenship preparation. See how it works before you connect. https://youtu.be/LzArJoT-fdM. Bi-Lingual Spanish speaking tutors are available 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m., Every Day.

HAVING TROUBLE CONNECTING FROM HOME: If you receive an ip address error, please go to www.whatismyip.com. Copy your ip address and send an email to librarysupport@tutor.com that says, “I live in [enter your city or town], Alabama, and cannot access Homework Alabama. My ip number is [enter your ip address from website]. Can you please connect me?”


Tutor App
Receive one-to-one, real-time assistance with your job search. Online tutors are available to help navigate online job sites, complete applications, write/review resumes and cover letters and even practice for an interview. You will also find thousands of career-related resources in the Tutor.com SkillsCenter. Career tutors are available online 24/7 from any internet-enabled computer or mobile device. Tutors available 10:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m., Every Day.

HAVING TROUBLE CONNECTING FROM HOME: If you receive an ip address error, please go to www.whatismyip.com. Copy your ip address and send an email to librarysupport@tutor.com that says, “I live in [enter your city or town], Alabama, and cannot access Homework Alabama. My ip number is [enter your ip address from website]. Can you please connect me?”


Tutor App
Students in grades K-12, entry level college and adult learners can receive specialized one-to-one tutoring help in the areas of math, science, English, social studies and writing. This service is also available in Spanish. Professional tutors are available online from 3:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m., every day, through any internet-enabled computer or mobile device.

HAVING TROUBLE CONNECTING FROM HOME: If you receive an ip address error, please go to www.whatismyip.com. Copy your ip address and send an email to librarysupport@tutor.com that says, “I live in [enter your city or town], Alabama, and cannot access Homework Alabama. My ip number is [enter your ip address from website]. Can you please connect me?”


Tutor App
Read eBooks and comics; Watch movies and TV shows; Listen to music and audiobooks; 15 checkouts per month


hoopla App
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. Provides coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page
and select Career Resources on the left.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina.
Informe Académico provides access to newspapers and magazines in Spanish and Portuguese. The database offers a wide range of content on Latin America.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Includes some 3,000 full-text periodicals covering a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
K- 5 research tool with magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
The NEW LearningExpress Library has resources to help improve math and reading skills, take practice tests for jobs, prepare for the GED, ACT or SAT, download ebooks and more.
YOU WILL NEED TO REGISTER AND SET UP YOUR TEST ACCOUNT BEFORE YOU BEGIN! PICK A USER NAME AND PASSWORD OF YOUR CHOICE.
LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Compilation of literary commentary. Scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and use the Gale Literary Sources database.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Its materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and use the Gale Literary Sources database.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and use the Gale Literary Sources database.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.


EbscoHost Mobile App
The Manuals, known as the Merck Manuals in the United States and Canada and MSD Manuals outside the United States and Canada, are one of the world’s most widely used medical information resources.
Use the Professional Version if you are a medical professional or student to find more advanced content.
Use the Consumer Version if you are a patient, parent or caregiver to find content that is easy to understand.
Mergent Intellect is a web-based application that features a collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate business intelligence. Mergent Intellect offers access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles, residential date, job search and more.

Learn how to use the Residential Search on Mergent Intellect:


Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Computer files of full text for stories originating in the Mobile Press-Register from 1988-1989, 1992 - current (News and obits; no paid funeral notices.)
The Historical Archives - actual images of the newspaper includes selections from 1833, 1858-1860, 1862-1863, 1868-1870, 1970-1992, 2001-2003.
Microfilm back files are at Local History.

This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Sources include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore events or compare viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, etc.

Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Find titles from across the US and Alabama. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.

Includes these quick search interfaces:
Newsbank Alabama News Search
Newsbank US News Search
Newsbank World News Search


Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.


EbscoHost Mobile App
With information on over 250,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more, NoveList Plus is a complete readers' resource. The Friends of the Library have provided funding for Novelist Select which brings Novelist content to our online catalog when you view your searches.

Learn how to use NoveList Plus:


an online database with fiction and nonfiction titles chosen specifically to support the school curriculum as well as the pleasure reading needs of students including BookTalks, Recommended Reads book lists, annotations, first chapter excerpts, as well as tools like Lexile scores for grade levels and popularity ratings. Use your library card number to log in from home.

Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this eBook in the Gale Virtual Reference Library under Literature.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
An online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

Oxford Reference Online Premium brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

A tool for learning to evaluate and understand a particular issue from all sides, delve into current events, or help student to formalize debate with a balanced perspective of the issues (left, right and center). Contains over 270 topics which each includes an Overview, a Point and a Counter Point Essay, as well as a Critical Thinking Guide for further research.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.


EbscoHost Mobile App
A fun and free way to learn any of 80 languages. Accessible via PC, Mac, or downloadable app to mobile device or tablet. Create an account with your library card.


Pronunciator App
This database provides full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Research in Context combines Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history. Audience: middle school, high school

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies. Covers a variety of programs in all educational areas, including area and ethnic studies, business, computer science, education, liberal arts, medicine, physical sciences, theology and religion, and more. Intended for students and others interested in education funding.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this eBook in the Gale Virtual Reference Library under Education.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Scribner Writers Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Helps students of all ages with homework, test prep, and writing skills. Adults can take advantage of the career center to help them build their resumes and practice for interviews.

HAVING TROUBLE CONNECTING FROM HOME: If you receive an ip address error, please go to www.whatismyip.com. Copy your ip address and send an email to librarysupport@tutor.com that says, “I live in [enter your city or town], Alabama, and cannot access Homework Alabama. My ip number is [enter your ip address from website]. Can you please connect me?”


Tutor App
Offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. Features the content of more than 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors -- each of which include authors universally studied in high schools and colleges. Starting point for research papers on literary works and figures, special projects and presentations.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Get all the latest stock info including a large standard company database covering some 1,700 equity issues. For each stock, it offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.

The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, "Ratings & Reports," presents full-page, individual stock reports (encapsulating the company's past performance, current status, and outlook) and industry reviews. The "Summary & Index" provides a key to locating the latest quarterly and supplementary reports and cites the most recent data on each of the stocks followed. Finally, "Selection & Opinion," a feature section, gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest. It also provides model portfolios for investors with various objectives and a number of economic and stock-market statistics.

The Value Line Small/Midcap Stocks Edition has now been added to the Value Line subscription. Access Investment Survey Plus on Value Line to see the Ratings & Reports and Summary & Index for Small and Midcap Stocks.

For Value Line access from home, enter library card number.



Getting Started Guide
Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page
and select Career Resources on the left.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Nine how-to guides that help you plan for and select the right insurance and financial products. It offers tools to help patrons navigate through the nine areas. Each 50-70 page guide offers a narrative about the subject, what you should look for when choosing a plan or policy, recommended companies to work with and more. Plus, each guide includes several Worksheets & Planners to further aid your decision-making process.

Searches libraries all over the world for books, articles, papers, Government Publications, etc.   (Staff login here.)