BUSINESS, MONEY AND TAX DATABASES & LINKS


PREMIUM DATABASES

Databases brought to you by Mobile Public Library, Alabama Public Library Service and the Alabama Virtual Library:

Curated, discipline-focused, and primary-source collections of streaming video for learning and research. The library's subscription, Public Library Video Online: Premium, includes over 40,000 videos on a wide range of interests, ideas, and issues.
Look under Disciplines and then Social Sciences to find videos on Business & Economics.

Enter Mobile Public Library and your library card number to login.
We have the the Public Library Video Online: Premium collection.
The business database includes: Industry Specifics, Employee Size, Sales Volume, Competitor Information, Executives Titles, Email Addresses, Historical Data, and more. The residential database includes: Name, Phone Numbers, Address, Length of Residency, Gender, Household Income, Home Market Value, Link to Neighbors and more.
Any of the databases can be easily downloaded, printed, or emailed, in excel, csv or pdf formats. The download limit is 1000 records per search with no overall limit.

This is a FREE TRIAL and will only be available for a limited time.
Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Deep research coverage with scholarly journals, business news, and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this eBook in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Career Library is an information resource for career and college research, a great resource to help people looking for jobs and for those who want to consider changing careers. Includes information on over 2,500 occupations including job profiles on up-and-coming and out-of-the-ordinary careers and information on almost 4,000 2-year and 4 year colleges and universities. Also has sections for assessing career interests and exploring information pertaining to occupations and higher education; searching web resources related to colleges/universities, careers, and curriculum; and test preparation materials.

The Funding Information Network provides free public access to Foundation Center databases, directories, fundraising and philanthropy publications, and training resources.
  • Foundation Center Online - a research tool to help nonprofits find the grantmakers most likely to fund their projects


  • Foundation Grants to Individuals Online - an online database of nearly 10,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers


  • Foundation Maps Professional - a data visualization tool and way to see who is funding what and where around the world
ALL ONLY AVAILABLE AT THE WEST REGIONAL BRANCH
Allows a user to search Gale's General OneFile, Student Edition, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
General Reference Center GOLD provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books through one interface. This general interest database offers the content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Mergent Intellect is a web-based application that features a collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate business intelligence. Mergent Intellect offers access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles, residential date, job search and more.

How to: Residential Search
How to: Business Search


This database provides full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Get all the latest stock info including a large standard company database covering some 1,700 equity issues. For each stock, it offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.

The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, "Ratings & Reports," presents full-page, individual stock reports (encapsulating the company's past performance, current status, and outlook) and industry reviews. The "Summary & Index" provides a key to locating the latest quarterly and supplementary reports and cites the most recent data on each of the stocks followed. Finally, "Selection & Opinion," a feature section, gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest. It also provides model portfolios for investors with various objectives and a number of economic and stock-market statistics.

The Value Line Small/Midcap Stocks Edition has now been added to the Value Line subscription. Access Investment Survey Plus on Value Line to see the Ratings & Reports and Summary & Index for Small and Midcap Stocks.

For Value Line access from home, enter library card number.



Getting Started Guide
Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page
and select Career Resources on the left.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.

LINKS

Other online resources: