HISTORY DATABASES AND LINKS


PREMIUM DATABASES

Databases brought to you by Mobile Public Library, Alabama Public Library Service and the Alabama Virtual Library:

Covering more than 500 years of the African-American history. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the homepage to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into an era through the Topic Centers. Read about key figures and events, examine famous speeches and other primary sources, and get context from the timelines.

Ancestry Library Edition has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census, more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index; Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection.


Login credentials needed for at home access. Email APLS at reference@apls.state.al.us and use "ALE Access" in the subject line to receive them promptly. At home access ends June 30, 2021.


Visitors will find historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom. The selected primary source documents are curated around six time periods: Resistance to Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932), The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975) and The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).

Britannica Library includes the Complete Encyclopædia, the Student Encyclopædia and the Junior Encyclopædia. There are more than 150,000 articles, links to over 20,000 Internet sites reviewed by Britannica editors, as well as over 750 full text journals and magazines.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.


Encyclopædia Britannica App
Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and use the Gale Literary Sources database.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Engaging interface for schools and public libraries. Provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Allows a user to search Gale's General OneFile, Student Edition, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Includes Milestone Documents, The Decades, Great Lives from History and Great Events from History.

A comprehensive full text history reference database. Features more than 640,000 full-text records from peer-reviewed journals, reference books, periodicals and more. Includes more than 74,000 primary source documents, more than 81,000 biographies of historical figures, and nearly 2,000 full-text reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. Plus, full text and selective content from more than 150 leading history periodicals and multimedia content including more than 43,000 images and 80+ hours of video.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Search the Mobile Press Register Historical and Current Collection provided by Newsbank. Explore current and archived issues of the Mobile Register with full-color newspaper pages and individual articles. Microfilm back files going farther back are at Local History.


How to access back issues of the Mobile Press Register using Newsbank:
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Sources include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore events or compare viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, etc.

Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Find titles from across the US and Alabama. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.

Includes these quick search interfaces:
Newsbank Alabama News Search
Newsbank US News Search
Newsbank World News Search


Access Alabama Newspaper Archives covering Alabama history from 1830-2017. Local newspapers include: Mobile Daily Commercial Register and Patriot, Mobile Register and Journal, Mobile Tribune, Sunday News Item, The Mobile Item, The Mobile News Item, and The Mobile Times.

Go to the Local History and Geneology page under Resources to find the link for at home access.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.


EbscoHost Mobile App

LINKS

Other online resources: