Visitors will find historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom. The selected primary source documents are curated around six time periods: Resistance to Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932), The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975) and The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).
Book Collection: Nonfiction contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.
Britannica Library includes the Complete Encyclopædia, the Student Encyclopædia and the Junior Encyclopædia. There are more than 150,000 articles, links to over 20,000 Internet sites reviewed by Britannica editors, as well as over 750 full text journals and magazines.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Resource for retrieving, comparing, ranking, and customizing data on the world's nations. Country snapshots feature provides statistics that include maps, area, population, demographics, gross national product, and more. County comparisons offer tools for creating comparison tables and graphs using either recent or historical statistics.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically under World Data Analyst.
Candid is a nonprofit that helps other nonprofits serve their communities. Nonprofits and individuals seeking funding, scholarships, or fellowships can access Foundation Directory to find and connect with funders. Access GuideStar to research local nonprofits to support and to find services.
DATABASES BELOW ARE AVAILABLE ONLY AT THE WEST REGIONAL BRANCH
Foundation Directory Online - Nonprofits and individuals seeking funding, scholarships, or fellowships can access Foundation Directory to find and connect with funders.
GuideStar - search to research local nonprofits to support and to find services. Helps those in need find resources they rely on, such as food banks or shelters.
Chilton is the world’s most comprehensive and trusted automotive repair database with easy-to-follow, step-by-step repair guidance on thousands of cars and trucks from 1940 to the present.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
eBooks from The Alabama Virtual Library include ebook encyclopedia from Britannica, Gale and Oxford Reference. Includes Native Peoples of America, Discover America, Illustrated Science Encyclopedia, the Discovery Library (for younger readers), Inside Sports, and more!
Click on the E-Books link at the top of the page.
The Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Engaging interface for schools and public libraries. Provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.
Allows a user to search Gale's General OneFile, Student Edition, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
General Reference Center GOLD provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books through one interface. This general interest database offers the content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Oxford Reference Online Premium brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Reference Solutions is a powerful online reference and research tool providing users instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on U.S. businesses and U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.
Get all the latest stock info including a large standard company database covering some 1,700 equity issues. For each stock, it offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.
The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, "Ratings & Reports," presents full-page, individual stock reports (encapsulating the company's past performance, current status, and outlook) and industry reviews. The "Summary & Index" provides a key to locating the latest quarterly and supplementary reports and cites the most recent data on each of the stocks followed. Finally, "Selection & Opinion," a feature section, gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest. It also provides model portfolios for investors with various objectives and a number of economic and stock-market statistics.
The Value Line Small/Midcap Stocks Edition has now been added to the Value Line subscription. Access Investment Survey Plus on Value Line to see the Ratings & Reports and Summary & Index for Small and Midcap Stocks.
For Value Line access from home, enter library card number.
Anywho - White Pages. Directory of phone, fax, e-mail, URL and website info Super Pages - Resource for finding information and insights on businesses and retailers. Find local business information from driving directions and hours of operation to Web links and customer reviews. Skipease - Collection of the best people and public record searches. White Pages - Find people, contact info & background checks USA.gov - Official Guide to Government Information and Services.
Maps from the University of Alabama - Historical and contemporary maps plus Aerial photography from all over the world. Library of Congress: Maps - The Library of Congress has custody of the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world. The online map collections represents only a small fraction that have been converted to digital form. The National Map - a suite of products and services that provide access to base geospatial information to describe the landscape of the United States and its territories. Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection - provides links to more than 5,000 maps including population density maps, reference maps, vegetation maps, etc.
Holidays and Festivals
Earth Calendar - Search holidays by date, country, religion, and a lunar phase calendar with names and dates of the moons! Festivals.com - search for festivals by state