This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts offers a smorgasbord of information--more than five million articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content from Delmar such as About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page and select Career Resources on the left.
Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Allows a user to search Gale's General OneFile, Student Edition, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
This database is a collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
The Manuals, known as the Merck Manuals in the United States and Canada and MSD Manuals outside the United States and Canada, are one of the world’s most widely used medical information resources.
Use the Professional Version if you are a medical professional or student to find more advanced content.
Use the Consumer Version if you are a patient, parent or caregiver to find content that is easy to understand.
Includes digital books on Literature, History, Science, and Health.
History collections: Current Events though an Historical Lens, Decades, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, Opinions Throughout History, Privacy Rights in the Digital Age, and Value of a Dollar
Health collections: General Health, Health & Wellness
BeSafeRx: Know Your Online Pharmacy - FDA BeSafeRx is a national campaign to raise awareness of the dangers of buying prescription medicines from fake online pharmacies FDA: Drugs - U.S. Food and Drug Administration's site with news and resources on medications FDA: Drugs Recalls - Drug recalls from the last 60 days Medline Plus - Drug, diseases, and health information, articles from the U.S. National Library of Medicine
USDA FoodData Central - Information on nutrients and other food components from United States Department of Agriculture Agricultural Research Service We Can! - Nutrition resource site for kids and parents from The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Centers for Disease Control - Stats, fact sheets, news, and travel advice from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services National Institutes of Health - Portal for health resources. The National Library of Medicine PubMed - Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Diseases and Conditions
General
Agency For Healthcare Research and Quality - Latest evidence-based information for improving health from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Compare medical treatments, understand diseases & conditions, get safer care, and assistance choosing quality care. Videos and podcasts in Spanish. Mayo Health - Easy to understand info on diseases and conditions, drugs and supplements, treatments, and healthy living.