Curated, discipline-focused, and primary-source collections of streaming video for learning and research. The library's subscription, Public Library Video Online: Premium, includes over 40,000 videos on a wide range of interests, ideas, and issues.
Look under Disciplines and then Social Sciences to find videos on Environmental Studies.
Enter Mobile Public Library and your library card number to login. We have the the Public Library Video Online: Premium collection.
General Reference Center GOLD provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books through one interface. This general interest database offers the content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
Monroe County: (251)743-3259; Office: (251)575-8154
Washington County: (251)847-2668
History, Education, and Information About Storms, Hurricanes, Weather and Environment
Great Websites for Kids: Weather - Websites geared to children from birth to age 14 compiled by the Association for Library Service to Children a division of the American Library Association. Historical Significant Events imageryFrom the National Climate Data Center - National Climatic Data Center's (NCDC) Historical Significant Events Imagery database (HSEI)! In here you will find hundreds of selected satellite images capturing some of the more important weather and environmental events over the last 30 years. Hurricane Hunters - come along for the ride right into the eye! Historical Hurricane Info National Climatic Data Center - maintains the world's largest climate data archive. Records in the archive range from paleoclimatic data to centuries-old journals to data less than an hour old Scholastic Weather Watch: Hurricanes - For K-8 students and teachers--provides links to Hurricane trivia, hurricane tracking, and an Internet field trip