AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Allows a user to search Gale's General OneFile, Student Edition, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Helps researchers remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page and select Career Resources on the left.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Includes digital books on Literature, History, Science, and Health.
History collections: Current Events though an Historical Lens, Decades, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, Opinions Throughout History, Privacy Rights in the Digital Age, and Value of a Dollar
Health collections: General Health, Health & Wellness
Literature:Critical Insights: Angelou, Maya
Science:Digital Literacy: Skills & Strategies
LINKS
Other online resources:
Get Help Using Computers and the Internet
DigitalLearn.org - Tutorials to help new computer users learn technology at their own pace. Examples: Navigating a Website, Using Windows 10, Online Scams, Intro to Facebook, Buying a Plane Ticket and more GCF Global Learning - A free web-based computer and career training program for beginning computer users Evaluating resources on the Internet - From Berkeley Library: helps you decide if a particular source is a good fit for your research project. Learn to Type - This free website helps you master touch-typing TechBoomers - free educational website that teaches older adults and other inexperienced Internet users with basic computer skills about websites that can help improve their quality of life. w3schools.com - Free tutorials in HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, SQL, XML, and more.
Technology
Adobe Certified Expert - ACE Exam preparation guides and exam registration Apple Training and Certification - LearnQuest is Apple's Global Training Provider and delivers technical and creative classes using Apple's Authorized curriculum. Google Developers Training - Learn and grow as a developer with Google's educational resources and certification exams Microsoft Certification - advance your skills with Microsoft certifications. Delivering a wide range of online certification programs Nation of Makers - A nonprofit organization dedicated to helping makers by supporting maker organizations; through advocacy, the sharing of resources and the building of community within the maker movement and beyond. Popular Science: Technology Tested - Read about breakthroughs in science, amazing tales of exploration, and discoveries in nature to emerging technologies and new consumer products that promise to change our everyday lives. Thingiverse - MakerBot's Thingiverse is a design community for discovering, making, and sharing 3D printable things.
Unique Ways to Find Information on the Internet
Ask.com - just ask a question! Duckduckgo.com - private searching, no filter bubble or cookies (click on the duck tosee how it works). Be sure to checkout the Goodies - special search queries that give you instant answers Google Scholar - enables you to search for scholarly literature HowStuffWorks.com - award-winning source of unbiased, reliable, easy-to-understand answers and explanations of how the world actually works. Oaister - includes more than 25 mil records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors WorldCat - find books all over the world. Hint: Click on Find a Library and put in 36602, then pick MPL. A list of all our new materials for the previous month appears on our WorldCat page! (Staff login here.)