SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS DATABASES AND LINKS


PREMIUM DATABASES

Databases brought to you by Mobile Public Library, Alabama Public Library Service and the Alabama Virtual Library:

Curated, discipline-focused, and primary-source collections of streaming video for learning and research. The library's subscription, Public Library Video Online: Premium, includes over 40,000 videos on a wide range of interests, ideas, and issues.
Look under Disciplines to find videos on Science & Engineering.

Enter Mobile Public Library and your library card number to login.
We have the the Public Library Video Online: Premium collection.
Designed for college and university libraries, Britannica Academic includes World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, and Notable Quotations

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.


Encyclopædia Britannica App
Britannica Library includes the Complete Encyclopædia, the Student Encyclopædia and the Junior Encyclopædia. There are more than 150,000 articles, links to over 20,000 Internet sites reviewed by Britannica editors, as well as over 750 full text journals and magazines.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.


Encyclopædia Britannica App
Britannica School is an online information resource designed for grades K-12 that provides multimedia resources for lessons and lesson planning, curriculum support, student and teacher research, and homework help.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.


Encyclopædia Britannica App
eBooks from The Alabama Virtual Library include ebook encyclopedia from Britannica, Gale and Oxford Reference. Includes Native Peoples of America, Discover America, Illustrated Science Encyclopedia, the Discovery Library (for younger readers), Inside Sports, and more!
Click on the E-Books link at the top of the page.

Engaging interface for schools and public libraries. Provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Engaging interface for schools and public libraries. Provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Engaging interface for schools and public libraries. Provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Engaging interface for schools and public libraries. Provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Allows a user to search Gale's General OneFile, Student Edition, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
General Reference Center GOLD provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books through one interface. This general interest database offers the content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Helps researchers remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page
and select Career Resources on the left.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
GreenFILE offers information covering aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.


EbscoHost Mobile App
K- 5 research tool with magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
The NEW LearningExpress Library has resources to help improve math and reading skills, take practice tests for jobs, prepare for the GED, ACT or SAT, download ebooks and more.
YOU WILL NEED TO REGISTER AND SET UP YOUR TEST ACCOUNT BEFORE YOU BEGIN! PICK A USER NAME AND PASSWORD OF YOUR CHOICE.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.


EbscoHost Mobile App
Research in Context combines Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history. Audience: middle school, high school

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
An interactive reference tool for younger students, based on school curriculum, of full text articles, many with images, from 1,100 magazines for young readers. Resources include Non-fiction E-books, Spotlight of the Month topics, The World Almanac for Kids, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.


LINKS

Other online resources:

  • General

    Department of Energy Pulse - Highlights cutting-edge research in science, energy, national security, environmental quality and technologies generated by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science and its national laboratories.
    Great Websites for Kids: Science - Websites geared to children from birth to age 14 compiled by the Association for Library Service to Children a division of the American Library Association.
    How Stuff Works - explanations with illustrations of everything from vcr's to bread
    Khan Academy - "a free world-class education for anyone anywhere". . With a library of over 3,000 videos covering everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history and 314 practice exercises, we're on a mission to help you learn what you want, when you want, at your own pace.
    Kids Click! - Web guide and search tool for Kids
    The Last Word - Provided by New Scientist magazine, this is a browsable, searchable archive of "over 300 questions on scientific phenomena, with answers provided by our readers." Be sure to completely read the answers given, as sometimes correction and clarifications are added after the original answer.
    LiveScience.com - "If you love cool science, you've found a home. Every day we scour the world of science and zero in on the latest innovations, the coolest discoveries and hottest events. Our goal is simple: to be the most timely, reliable and useful source for cool science news for the whole family.
    Metric Conversions - Detailed Metric Conversions. Also includes formulas, information on units, and the ability to see answers out to 8 digits or as a fraction
    The Microbe Zoo - everything under the microscope from water to space to dirt!
    Public Library of Science - a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource
    Science and Arts Gateway - great links from Cornell University
    Science Daily - Up to date research news from all corners of science, covering new discoveries and research projects.
    Science Learning Network - If you are a science teacher or a parent who wants to link your child to excellent science resources on the Internet, this site is for you! "The Science Learning Network (SLN) is an online community of educators, students, schools, science museums and other institutions demonstrating a new model for inquiry science education."
    Scientific American: Ask the Experts
    SciJinks - From NaSa - Fun Info about Space, Weather, Seasons, The atmosphere, Hurricanes and Tornadoes for Kids and Teachers!
    The Why Files: The Science Behind the News - The mission of The Why Files is to explore the science, math and technology behind the news of the day, and to present those topics in a clear, accessible and accurate manner. We are based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, but The Why Files covers science at all institutions that engage in scientific exploration and discovery.
  • Astronomy

    Ask an astronomer! - Ask your astronomy question and get a response from the graduate students and scientists at Cornell University's astronomy Department. If you don't have a specific question in mind, browse some of the past questions and answers to increase your astronomy IQ!
    Earth and Sky - The site for the daily science radio series, it includes informative articles/discussions on various topics, news and discoveries in the earth sciences, astronomy, and environmental sciences. Included are sound files and a searchable archive of past programs.
    StarChild - a learning center for young astronomers
  • Biology & Zoology

    Anatomy of the Human Body - illustrations and explanations from Gray's anatomy
    Endangered Species - Find endangered species by state and county, try the Quick Searches for Quick Facts!
    The Journey North - wildlife migration
    Microbe World - This site provides a basic introduction to microbes and microbiology for non-scientists.
    The Museum of Vertebrate Zoology - The UC Berkeley Museum of Vertebrate Zoology, founded in 1908, houses a permanent historical record of mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians and information about their ecology, evolution and geographic distribution.
  • Chemistry

    Dynaminc Periodic Table - Interactive periodic table
    General Chemistry Online! - an extremely helpful and well-reviewed site containing: Companion Notes, Chemistry Exam Survival Guide, an index of self-guided tutorials, quizzes, and drills on specific topics, & FaQ
    Periodic Table of Elements - online and interactive!
  • Environment

    Earth and Sky - The site for the daily science radio series, it includes informative articles/discussions on various topics, news and discoveries in the earth sciences, astronomy, and environmental sciences. Included are sound files and a searchable archive of past programs.
    Living On Earth - Living on Earth with Steve Curwood is the weekly environmental news and information program distributed by National Public Radio.
    PlanetDiary - weekly update on the environmental state of Planet Earth
    Solar Center - a site dedicated to educating people about various solar technologies and how they may be used. an entire section is devoted to teaching solar energy in the classroom with information for students and teachers.
  • Experiments

    Hands On Science - experiments for K-12
    Inventure - info and project ideas plus the National Inventors Hall Of Fame
  • Geography

    National Archive of Geological Photographs - Contains approximately 6400 digitized images dedicated to the theme of earth sciences.
  • Math

    The Calculator Edge - hundreds of calculators, from general use to scientific and technical
    Frequently Asked Questions - an FaQ from the Usenet group. It includes the answers to mathematic puzzlers such as why 0.999 ... equals 1 and a discussion of famous problems such as the four-color problem. available in graphical and text only versions.
    MATH-abundance - This is a set of rather in-depth mathematics tutorials, written at the upper-college level. You can go through the tutorials in order, or use the supplied index to find a specific tutorial of interest. also includes links to other tutorials on the Web.
    The Math and Science Gateway
    MathBuilder - For grades 1-10; free worksheets for each grade in basic math, decimals, fractions, percents, ratios, measurement, probability, statistics, and algebra.
    Math Quizzes
    Mathematics FAQ Mathematics Miscellany and Puzzles - This is a large collection of topics drawn from arithmetic, algebra, geometry, logic, probability, fallacies, math magic, social sciences, calculus, games and puzzles. The author seeks to help people explore the beauty of math.
    TeachMath.net - Created by a math teacher, this site has many resources for math teachers. It includes articles and text reviews, with a focus on changes in math education and "Distinguishing Fads from Best Practices."
  • Physics

    The Laws List - an impressive glossary of physics-related terms and concepts.
    Physics 1501 - Modern Technology - an outline of the Physics 1501 - Modern Technology course taught at the University of Winnipeg. Covers all physics topics and outlines the general study of physics concepts.
  • Technology

    Gdgt - the new consumer electronics site by Peter Rojas and Ryan Block -- the guys behind Engadget and Gizmodo." Offering a weekly podcast on every new electronic gadget (and some of the old ones) this duo keeps busy following technological news so you don't have to.
    Pop!Casts Leading thinkers and contributors to Pop!Tech, an annual technology conference, share their ideas on topics like renewable energy, genetically modified foods, and social networking. Includes talks with Clay Shirky, Richard Dawkins, and Brian Fagan, among others.