ETHNICITY DATABASES AND LINKS


PREMIUM DATABASES

Databases brought to you by Mobile Public Library, Alabama Public Library Service and the Alabama Virtual Library:

Covering more than 500 years of the African-American history. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the homepage to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into an era through the Topic Centers. Read about key figures and events, examine famous speeches and other primary sources, and get context from the timelines.

Curated, discipline-focused, and primary-source collections of streaming video for learning and research. The library's subscription, Public Library Video Online: Premium, includes over 40,000 videos on a wide range of interests, ideas, and issues.
Look under Disciplines and then Diversity to find Asian and Black Studies videos.

Enter Mobile Public Library and your library card number to login.
We have the the Public Library Video Online: Premium collection.
eBooks from The Alabama Virtual Library include ebook encyclopedia from Britannica, Gale and Oxford Reference. Includes Native Peoples of America, Discover America, Illustrated Science Encyclopedia, the Discovery Library (for younger readers), Inside Sports, and more!
Click on the E-Books link at the top of the page.

Designed to provide the other side of the story and additional viewpoints from those out of the mainstream press. Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Allows a user to search Gale's General OneFile, Student Edition, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
General Reference Center GOLD provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books through one interface. This general interest database offers the content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina. Informe Académico provides access to newspapers and magazines in Spanish and Portuguese. The database offers a wide range of content on Latin America.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.


EbscoHost Mobile App
A fun and free way to learn any of 80 languages. Accessible via PC, Mac, or downloadable app to mobile device or tablet. Create an account with your library card.


Pronunciator App

LINKS

Other online resources: