COMMUNITY DATABASES AND LINKS

Check out our Community Resource guide to learn about community resources available in Mobile County. Find information on addiction and counseling services, disability services, housing assistance, shelters, food pantries, job training, transportation and much more.

PREMIUM DATABASES

Databases brought to you by Mobile Public Library, Alabama Public Library Service and the Alabama Virtual Library:

Gale In Context | Opposing Viewpoints

An online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.

Gale Power Search

Allows a user to search Gale's General OneFile, Student Edition, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page
and find this database listed alphabetically.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.

Home Improvement Gale OneFile

For hobbyists and professionals with more than 4.5 million articles from more than 200 home improvement-focused titles, covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page
and select Career Resources on the left.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.

Hospitality and Tourism Gale OneFile

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. Provides coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.

TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL:
Select the Adult Resources tab at the top of the page
and select Career Resources on the left.

Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale.
Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.

MasterFILE Premier

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.


EbscoHost Mobile App

Points of View Reference Center

A tool for learning to evaluate and understand a particular issue from all sides, delve into current events, or help student to formalize debate with a balanced perspective of the issues (left, right and center). Contains over 270 topics which each includes an Overview, a Point and a Counter Point Essay, as well as a Critical Thinking Guide for further research.


EbscoHost Mobile App

LINKS

Other online resources:

About the Library


Card & Accounts


Library Resources


Our Address

 700 Government Street
      Mobile, Alabama 36602-1403
(251) 340-1458
info@mplonline.org

eNewsletter Service