Book Collection: Nonfiction contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.
Find biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and essays about their lives and work.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and use the Gale Literary Sources database.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and use the Gale Literary Sources database.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
eBooks from The Alabama Virtual Library include ebook encyclopedia from Britannica, Gale and Oxford Reference. Includes Native Peoples of America, Discover America, Illustrated Science Encyclopedia, the Discovery Library (for younger readers), Inside Sports, and more!
Click on the E-Books link at the top of the page.
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Allows a user to search Gale's General OneFile, Student Edition, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Compilation of literary commentary. Scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and use the Gale Literary Sources database.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Its materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and use the Gale Literary Sources database.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and use the Gale Literary Sources database.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
With information on over 250,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more, NoveList Plus is a complete readers' resource.
Online database with fiction and nonfiction titles chosen specifically to support the school curriculum as well as the pleasure reading needs of students including BookTalks, Recommended Reads book lists, annotations, first chapter excerpts, as well as tools like Lexile scores for grade levels and popularity ratings. Use your library card number to log in from home.
Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this eBook in the Gale Virtual Reference Library under Literature.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Includes digital books on Literature, History, Science, and Health.
History collections: Current Events though an Historical Lens, Decades, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, Opinions Throughout History, Privacy Rights in the Digital Age, and Value of a Dollar
Health collections: General Health, Health & Wellness
Scribner Writers Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Trying to connect from a cellular network? Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.
Offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. Features the content of more than 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors -- each of which include authors universally studied in high schools and colleges. Starting point for research papers on literary works and figures, special projects and presentations.
TO CONNECT FROM HOME WITH AVL: Select the View All Resources tab at the top of the page and find this database listed alphabetically.
Trying to connect from a cellular network?
Try the AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Select Mobile Public Library. Next, at the bottom, tap Databases to see an alphabetical list.